Un-watch-a-Bulls need to channel their inner Kristaps Porzingis

It’s been a rough few weeks for our Chicago Bulls, or as I like to call them as of late, the “Un-watch-a-Bulls.” The loss to Tom Thibodeau’s Timberwolves I’ll let slide. Deep down, I kind of wanted Thibs to get the W, after the way things ended between him and Bulls’ management.

But two losses to the Milwaukee Bucks, including one at the United Center, where the Bulls only scored 69 to the Bucks’ 95? What? Am I living in some alternate universe now? And you know the world is about to end when the New York Knicks are ahead of the Bulls in the Eastern Conference standings.

Since watching these awful games is not on my festive Christmas agenda, and leads to me acting more like Scrooge than Santa, I didn’t actually hear any of the UC fans booing, or season ticket holders screaming for refunds at Friday night’s Bucks game. I had to look away. Turn off the games – they’re impossible to watch.

But the booing was widely reported by all of the Chicago media.

Now you know how I feel about booing. There are really no exceptions, except for LeBron and those Cavs. So I suggest our Bulls figure out how to do exactly what Kristaps has done.

You remember during the NBA draft, he was booed by New York Knicks fans (classy), and of course, I think I might have cried. I was so upset. (Note: I’m the one who should be crying now given how Kristaps now dismantles the Bulls…another blog on that later).

But I gave the kid credit for the way he handled the NYC reaction immediately following the draft. And I suggest the Bulls do the same, and fast.

They need to turn the boos into cheers. Or the Bulls risk having the UC as empty as Soldier Field.

Here is what Kristaps had to say:

“I’m a young guy coming into the league, I don’t need motivation. I’m gonna be doing my thing and working as hard as I can,” Porzingis said. “But of course, I would love those booing fans who didn’t know me to (become) fans who know me and cheer for me. New York is a basketball city. The fans, they express the emotions, they boo you or they cheer for you, and I think that’s the best thing you can have. You have fans who really love the game and have passion for the game.”

In the spirit of Christmas, and like the New York fans have done for Kristaps, I hope to start cheering again – for our Bulls. It can all happen tomorrow night when the Bulls face the Pistons at the United Center.

See Red!

Go Bulls!

Beat the Pistons.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

